huma bhabha in group show ‘rockaway!’ organised by moma ps1

29 June 2014
Gallery artist Huma Bhabha is included in Rockaway!, a free public arts festival sponsored by the Jamaica Bay-Rockaway Parks Conservancy (JBRPC) to celebrate the reopening of Fort Tilden and recognize the ongoing recovery of the Rockaway Peninsula in New York. The festival was conceived by MoMA PS1's Director, Klaus Biesenbach, in close collaboration with Patti Smith. The festival will feature solo projects by Patti Smith, Adrián Villar Rojas, and Janet Cardiff.

The final component of the festival is a group exhibition, featuring work from Huma Bhabha, which was organized in collaboration with the Honolulu Biennial on the grounds of the newly restored Rockaway Beach Surf Club on Beach 87th Street in Rockaway Beach. Following Hurricane Sandy, the Surf Club was the one of the largest relief centers on the peninsula; their organization facilitated and directed over 5,000 volunteers, with major contributions from MoMA PS1. The exhibition celebrates the efforts of the Rockaway community of surfers and artists in rebuilding their neighbourhood.

Artists include: Marina Abromovic, Doug Aitken, Nanu Al-Hamad, Uri Aran, Kevin Beasley, Neil Beloufa, Anna Betbeze, Huma Bhabha, Carol Bove, Lizzi Bougatsos, Pete Brady, Olaf Breuning, Bruce High Quality Foundation, Loreto Caceres, Jay Chung and Q Takeki Maeda, James Clar, Shezad Dawood, Rodney Dickson, Brandon d'Leo, Thomas Dozol, Zackary Drucker, Olafur Eliasson, Roe Ethridge, James Ferraro, Fred Fleischer, Ryan Foerster, Shingo Francis, Asha Fuller, Daniel Gordon, Hugh Hayden, Mike Haff, Rachel Harrison, Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff, Camille Henrot, Jonathan Horowitz, Matt Hoyt, Donna Huanca, Jibade-Khalil Huffman, Alex Israel, JPW3, Justin Jay, Gavin Kenyon, Caitlin Keogh, Terence Koh, Andrei Koschmieder, Ajay Kurian, Sadie Laska, Margaret Lee, Dominik Lejman, Jason Bailer Losh, narcissister, Sally Lundburg and Keith Tallet, Nancy Lupo, Marcos Lutyens, Gloria Maximo, Ryan McNamara, Cindy Meyers, John Miller, Tracey Moffatt, Marlie Mul, Georgie Nettell, Adrienne Pao, Beth Perkins, Elizabeth Peyton, Adam Putnam, Ugo Rondinone, Aura Rosenberg, Carly Ruggieri, Nigel Scott, Gregory Siff, Tom Sachs, Laurie Simmons, Xaviera Simmons, Keone Singlehurst, Michael Stipe, Stewart Uoo, Allyson Vieira, Apichatpong Weerasethakul and Chai Siris, Saya Woolfalk, Amy Yao.

The exhibition runs from 29 June until 1 September 2014.

Huma Bhabha at Rockaway!, New York.